List of Senate that will not be able to make it Again

Posted by Clef onyeigba

Following the just concluded election and the ongoing result announcement by Independent Electoral Commission but(INEC), twenty-four of 66 senators who sought for a re-election into the 9th Senate have lost out at the National Assembly elections, which held alongside the Presidential elections last Saturday.

The senators that sought for return bids, but lost at the polls, as declared INEC are the President of the Senate,

Dr. Bukola Saraki (PDP, Kwara Central),
Godswill Akpabio (APC, Akwa Ibom West),

Nazif Gamawa (PDP, Bauci)

Rafiu Ibrahim (PDP, Kwara South),

Tayo Ala soadura (APC, Ondo Central)

Yele Omogunwa (Ondo South).

Suleiman Hunkuyi (PDP, Kaduna North),

Monsurat Sunmonu (ADC, Oyo Central),

Rilwan Adesoji (ADP, Oyo South),

Abiodun Olujimi (PDP, Ekiti South),

Duro Faseyi (PDP, Ekiti North),

Mao Ohuabunwa (PDP, Abia North),

Andy Uba (APC, Anambra South)

Victor Umeh (APC Anambra Central).

Other serving senators in the category of those who lost on Saturday include: Senators Shittu Ubali (PDP, Jigawa North East),

Shehu Sani (PRP, Kaduna Central),

Mohammed Hassan (PDP, Yobe South)

Binta Masi Garba (APC, Adamawa North). Hamman Isa Misau (PDP, Bauchi Central),

Ahmed Ogembe (PDP, Kogi Central),

Attai Aidoko (PDP, Kogi East),

Barnabas Gemade (SDP, Benue North East),

Bob Effiong (APC, Akwa Ibom),

David Umaru (APC Niger East).

A total of 33 senators earlier lost out in primary elections, which took place in October last year.
Going by the above statistics, it means that a total of 66 senators in the Senate won’t return as eight others went for governorship primaries and succeeded.

However, the casualty figure might further increase among the remaining 41 senators, since not all of them have been declared winners in the Saturday elections. Consequently, while only about 40 of the serving senators will be among the elected 109 senators for the 9th Senate, most of the remaining 69 others will be first timers who will take some time to learn parliamentary practice.

In the 7th Senate, when a similar high turnover hit the Upper Chamber, the then Senate Leader, Victor Ndoma-Egba, who was among those who lost out, lamented that the high turnover was affecting the efficiency of the nation’s apex parliament.

Posted by Clef onyeigba

About Clef Onyeigba, is one of nigeria’s most entertaining and informative web blog, visited by majority of nigeria internet users, daily, and still counting… We inform you, and many other internet users, on latest happenings, both entertainment, and infornations. We are 100 percent reliable, and report 100 percent true news, and the most entertaining nigeria musics, videos, comedies, and so many more… 9jalatest, kicked off operation, on the 1st of February 2019 and right now, we are currently ruling the East internet waves…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *